Head Start

Head Start promotes the school readiness of young children from low-income families through agencies in their local community. Head Start and Early Head Start programs support the mental, social, and emotional development of children from birth to age 5. In addition to education services, programs provide children and their families with health, nutrition, social, and other services. Early Head Start serves pregnant women, infants, and toddlers. Early Head Start programs are available to the family until the child turns 3 years old and is ready to transition into Head Start or another pre-K program.

In general, Head Start eligibility is based on family income at or below the federal poverty level. Families with other situations including homelessness, children in foster care, or receiving SSI or TANF are eligible. The local Head Start or Early Head Start program will determine a child’s eligibility according to their local requirements for enrollment.

Due to limited government funding, there are not enough spaces for all eligible children so Head Start and Early Head Start services are not available in all of Colorado counties. Currently the counties that have Head Start and/or Early Head Start services include: Adams, Alamosa, Arapahoe, Archuleta, Bent, Boulder, Chafee, Conejos, Costilla, Delta, Denver, Eagle, El Paso, Fremont, Garfield, Huerfano, Jefferson, La Plata, Lake, Larimer, Las Animas, Lincoln, Logan, Mesa, Moffat, Montezuma, Montrose, Morgan, Otero, Prowers, Pueblo, Rio Grande, Saguache, Summit, Teller, Washington, Weld, and Yuma. Please note that not all counties with Head Start are participating in PEAK.

The Head Start Locator can help you to find the locations of Head Start programs. Please click here for a complete list of locations.